DocSafe Document Boxes and Bags: What the Fire Claims Say
DocSafe sells soft, collapsible fire-resistant document boxes, file organizers and bags on Amazon US through a DocSafe brand store. Its Amazon listings name Budding Trade as the manufacturer. Every DocSafe model we track is a fabric document box or bag, not a steel safe, and all sit in the budget price tier.
We earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no cost to you. Disclosure
DocSafe models on Amazon US
9 live · checked weekly| Model | Type | Fire protection | Water | Outside H · footprint | Weight | Lock / entry | Document fit | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Document box | Fire-rated Minutes not stated | Water-resistantTester not stated | 10 · 15.55 × 12.2 in | 2.8 lb | — | letter, legal, hanging folders | Check price | |
| Document box | Fire-rated Minutes not stated | Water-resistantTester not stated | 10.5 · 16 × 12.5 in | 2.5 lb | Zipper lock | letter, legal, hanging folders | Check price | |
| Document box | Fire-rated Minutes not stated | Water-resistantTester not stated | 12.2 · 16 × 13.8 in | 2 lb | Zipper lock | letter, legal | Check price | |
| Document box | Fire-rated Minutes not stated | Water-resistantTester not stated | 12.2 · 16 × 13.8 in | — | Zipper lock | letter, legal | Check price | |
| Fire-resistant bag | None stated | Water-resistantTester not stated | 2.8 · 14.4 × 10.8 in | — | — | letter | Check price | |
| Document box | 30 minClaimed | Water-resistantTester not stated | 5.12 · 16.7 × 13 in | 5.55 lb | Zipper lock | letter, legal | Check price | |
| Document box | None stated | Water-resistantTester not stated | 3 · 15.5 × 11.5 in | 2 lb | Zipper lock | letter, legal | Check price | |
| Document box | 30 minClaimed | Water-resistantTester not stated | 5.12 · 15.5 × 11.8 in | 5 lb | Zipper lock | — | Check price | |
| Document box | Fire-rated Minutes not stated | — | 10.7 · 16.2 × 12.6 in | 3.3 lb | Zipper lock | letter, legal, hanging folders | Check price |
DocSafe: an Amazon brand store, made by Budding Trade
DocSafe sells its products on Amazon US through a DocSafe brand store. Its Amazon listings name Budding Trade as the manufacturer. Our brand record lists no separate DocSafe website with specs or history, so this page has no founding date, location or ownership details beyond that. Everything about the products below comes from the Amazon listings.
That is worth knowing before reading any number on this page. A spec from an Amazon listing is the seller's own claim. Nobody else has signed off on it.
DocSafe fire claims: material temperature vs. a fire rating
Every DocSafe listing uses the word "fireproof" in its title. What sits behind it varies, and none of it is an independent fire rating.
The temperature figures describe the material. The listings say the material withstands 2,000°F, 2,200°F, 5,200°F or 6,400°F, depending on the model. That is not a furnace test of the closed box. It doesn't say how hot the inside got, or for how long.
The UL94 reference is a material test. Several listings cite a UL94 V-0/5VA flame-retardant test. UL94 rates how a plastic or fabric burns, not how well a container protects paper inside it. It is a different standard from the fire-resistance ratings used for safes and chests.
Two listings give a duration. The DS0103 and DS0122 boxes say the contents stay "safe and sound even after half an hour of burning." No temperature, lab or test conditions are stated. We record 30 minutes as a manufacturer claim.
Two listings are not fire-rated in our data at all. The DS0092 zipper binder and the DS0105 hard-shell organizer say "fireproof" in the title but give no temperature or duration. Our table shows them as not fire rated.
The DS0154 listing said 5,200°F. It didn't say for how long. Our guide on UL safe ratings explains what a real fire rating names: time, temperature and who tested it.
DocSafe models: boxes, file organizers and a binder
At our last check (Oct 2026), the DocSafe line-up on Amazon US was all soft goods. The differences are shape, size and the lock:
- File boxes with a lid or zipper (DS0005, B09W5B4B8V, B0BYD6WQXJ, DS0154). Roughly 10 to 12.2 in tall and 15.55 to 16.2 in wide, per the listings. Most take letter and legal papers; several fit hanging file folders. Several are listed as collapsible.
- The wheeled box (B0CJJY13GZ). Same 12.2 by 16 by 13.8 in size as B0BYD6WQXJ, with four removable locking wheels and a handle.
- Flat organizers (DS0103, DS0122, DS0105). About 3 to 5 in deep. The DS0103 has a removable 13-pocket folder and is listed as holding 1,100 sheets. The DS0105 has 13 accordion pockets and a hard shell.
- Zipper binder (DS0092). A binder with 30 sheet protectors for letter-size pages.
Most models have a built-in zipper combination lock, per the listings. That keeps a zipper closed; it is not a security lock. A fabric box can be carried off, or cut. These are for organizing and grabbing in a hurry, not for theft protection.
Weights run from 2 lb to 5.55 lb, per the listings. Several listings state a 2-year warranty or after-sales service. Others don't mention one.
Where DocSafe is strong, and where it's thin
Strong:
- Capacity for files. Letter, legal and hanging-folder sizes are stated on most models.
- Weight. Light enough to grab on the way out of the house.
- Price tier. All in the budget tier.
- Warranty in writing on several listings: two years.
Thin:
- No named lab. No DocSafe product carries an independent fire rating.
- Temperatures that describe fabric, not protection. The big numbers are about the material.
- Water resistance only. One listing says the zipper isn't waterproof and the bag should not be immersed.
- One source. Without a manufacturer site, the Amazon listing is the only place the specs come from.
How to choose within DocSafe, and when to look elsewhere
For organizing household paperwork in one grab-and-go container, a DocSafe file box with hanging folders does that job. Pick by the folder size you use and whether you want wheels.
For a handful of originals you can't replace (passports, deeds, birth certificates), look at a hard chest with a named fire lab instead. Our fire-resistant document boxes page shows which ones state time, temperature and who rated them. The Honeywell page lists chests described as UL or ETL rated for 30 minutes at 1,550°F.
For a bag inside a safe, a DocSafe pouch can add organization. Compare similar options on our fire-resistant bags page and our document safes page.
Read the fire line on the listing for a time and a lab. If neither is there, buy it for organizing, and keep the originals somewhere rated. Then check the price.
Where it's strong
- Letter, legal and hanging-folder sizes listed on most models
- Light (2 to 5.55 lb per the listings) and collapsible
- Zipper combination lock on most models
- 2-year warranty stated on several listings
Where it's thin
- No independent fire rating on any model; temperature figures describe the material
- Only two listings state any duration (30 minutes), with no test conditions
- Water resistance claimed by Amazon listings only; not for submersion
- No manufacturer website; all specs come from Amazon listings
Related pages
Questions about DocSafe safes
Who makes DocSafe document boxes?
DocSafe sells through a brand store on Amazon US, and its Amazon listings name Budding Trade as the manufacturer. Our brand record lists no separate DocSafe manufacturer website, so all specs on this page come from Amazon listings.
Is a DocSafe document box fire rated?
Not by an independent lab. The listings give a temperature the material withstands, from 2,000°F to 6,400°F depending on the model, and cite a UL94 V-0/5VA flame-retardant material test. UL94 rates how a material burns, not how hot the inside of a closed box gets. Two listings also say the contents are fine after half an hour of burning, without test conditions.
Is DocSafe waterproof?
The listings describe most models as water resistant. One listing notes the material is waterproof but the zipper is not, and that the bag should not be immersed. Treat these as splash protection, not flood protection.
What fits in a DocSafe file box?
Most models are listed for letter and legal documents, and several take hanging file folders. The DS0103 listing says it holds 1,100 letter or legal sheets. Check the interior size in the table where the listing gives one.
DocSafe or a hard fire chest: which should I get?
It depends on what you need in writing. A hard fire chest with a named lab, such as several Honeywell chests rated for 30 minutes at 1,550°F, gives a tested time and temperature. A DocSafe bag is lighter and holds more files, but its fire figures are material claims. Some people use both: the bag for files, the chest for originals.
Sources
- DocSafe Fireproof Document Box with Lock (Amazon.com) — accessed 2026-10-12








